The Solace of Security

6 a.m. is a mixed bag of emotions.
An alarm too loud leaves a pain behind my left eyebrow
That will linger for a few hours yet
And will take strong medication to eradicate.
My pulsing brain weeps, “not today.”

Yet, there’s the time alone,
The quiet time all to myself
To reflect, breathe, take it slow.
There’s the coffee that pulls my eyelids apart,
There’s the music in my car that straightens my back.

But there’s also last night’s roadkill–
Someone’s bloody mistake that I can’t get off my mind.
There’s the thought of my looming 8 hour shift,
And the voice in the back of my head saying
“It never ends.”

But there are smiling faces,
People who appreciate me,
A wage.
Money isn’t happiness, but it brings the solace of security
And that’s more than I had before.

road2

This entry was published on July 13, 2015 at 1:06 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

