Turn Away

You’re missing something.
Some crucial piece I can’t identify.
But I’ve always known it lives inside me.
I used to try and make you search for yours
But you brushed me away,
Made me feel stupid for caring.

I foolishly looked back today
In an unusually sleepy state,
And the disparity between you and I
Was overwhelming.
Once, you said we were the same person.
Wrong again, my friend.

Did you turn away because of my view?
I had a look into yours today.
If you knew an ounce about history, you’d see your mistake.
The party names changed, so you’re disproving your own point.
But I bet you feel satisfied
Because ignorance is bliss, right?

Maybe you’d be surprised by this sudden venom,
But don’t misunderstand.
I don’t claim to be a better person.
I just don’t understand how I was ever impressed with you.
And I wonder if you’ll ever figure it out–
Your inability to see anyone else but yourself.

 key

This entry was published on May 20, 2014 at 5:59 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

